pre-post: Warped Tour 2013

Tomorrow my 15-year-old niece and I are headed off to Warped Tour in Atlanta. How exciting!!

First I’ll tell you who I’m super excited to see and then we’ll talk about mom-ish packing details. I’ll be uploading lots of pictures and posts afterward and telling you what was really useful to bring and what wasn’t. Also, we have VIP tickets, thanks to our great friend ggsuperundies and her awesome connections! It’s all about networking, people!

So, the line up is pretty vast for tomorrow’s performance but there’s two bands I’m excited for in particular.

The first is an old high-school-sweetheart of a band; Never Shout Never. I’ve loved this kid since his first album.

I mean look at him, he’s precious.

images

the next band I’m pumped to see, who are also being national celebrated for being pretty great, are The Used.

They seem pretty groovy.

Warped+Tour+2013+5KajyAJA7okl

(neither of these photos are mine. They just looked great and I wanted to share)

So, other than Never Shout Never and The Used, all the other bands at Warped Tour are a mystery to me and I’m sure there will be some great discoveries on my part!

Now, for this packing nonsense.

Aaron’s Ampitheatre, the venue, is about 2 & 1/2 hours from my house. That’s ok. I’m picking up my niece around 7am and we plan to get there by about 930am. That gives time for parking and general lollygagging. We might stop by Lenox Mall first though…

Packing for Warped Tour has already been a pretty insane experience.

Small, lightweight backpack, sunscreen, a small homemade snack, one sealed bottle of water, camera, disposable or small digital, sharpie for autographs and writing set times, fully charged cell phone, comfortable sneakers, hat.

That’s what Warped Tour says you can bring. Most of it’s pretty understandable but who defines snack sizes? rude.

So of course I’ve overpacked!

Thus far I have;

-sunscreen

-makeup for touch-ups & chap stick

– a fully stocked First Aid kit (to keep in my trunk)

– a change of clothes

– three memo pads for signatures and writing set times

– 2 permanent markers and a back of stubby, scented markers (because who doesn’t love scented markers?) (also for signatures and set times)

scented markers

– a towel (rumor has it there will be misters and a giant slip&slip – whaaaaaaaaaaaaat)

– $60 cash

-snacks

Of course I packed too much (again) in terms of snacks. But a girl gets hungry, so it’s ok!

Snacks include skinny pretzels ( I’ll do a whole blog post on these – they blow my mind!), apples, veggie straws, chocolate spread and sandwiches.

Now, the sandwiches are where the magic is!

I went to the grocery with my mum, who never minds splurging on chocolatey things. She bought us these peanut butter to-go cups that are chocolate peanut butter from Jiffy.

jifchocolate

Dear reader – this stuff is delicious. These wonderful packets come in a larger box of six packets. They’re each about 1.5oz and a 250 calories for the whole 1.5oz (which is really like 2 helpings. there’s quite a bit in there). This is a little less cost efficient (by ounce) than buying a bottle of Nutella, but it’s chocolate and peanut butter. Again, delicious.

So I dropped 2 in each of our bags (4) and had 2  left over that went in the cupboard.

I pulled out my whole wheat bread and peach jam that my favorite ging, Matthew, gave me. He and his Nana made the jam together and

it. is. delicious.

I smeared peanut butter (creamy, if you’re curious) on one slice and peach jam on the other. Normal pb&j, right?

WRONG

because then I popped open one of the cupboard packages of this chocolate spread stuff and smeared some on the peach jam slice.  I then squished the two sides together and made a sandwich that I promptly ate half of.

oh

dear

Lord.

This stuff was so good!

Maybe I’m on a peach kick right now ( I just made brown-sugar, baked peaches for the first time, which is a whole recipe post that will happen soon). This isn’t important. What’s important is that the stuff is delicious!

The calories are a little higher than I like, but as an indulgence it’s not too bad.

Anywho,

that’s the low down about preparation for Warped Tour. Pictures and stories will be up soon, I promise!

Let me know if you have any suggestions about the whole lot.

Leave a comment